A few questions from a new member πŸ˜€

Hello,

I am new to building although I build rc model planes. Battery, esc, motor. But not waterproof. I bought an empty Takuma V2 board and want rebuild it again. Gong foil, flipsky motor, esc?. The battery will be the biggest challenge. And the box for the esc :grinning:.

Also buying on Aliexpress is scary. Is there an european alternative?

My main questions:

A waterproof esc or a flipsky with a waterproof box
Flipsky motor but which propellor
Battery 13s10p

Which waterproof connectors are common?

All other tips from people with a Takuma board are More than welcome

What size of Takuma is it? Maybe a few photos would help

It would also help if you could explain your intended use case. Flat water cruising or big wave carving etc.

It is a Takuma cruising v2. There is enough space for the esc and a battery. I think the compartiment is not waterproof, therefore Inneed a good box for the esc. For the battery I have to think.

The foil will beva gong and Inthink that will fit.

Here are a few answers to get you started

A waterproof esc or a flipsky with a waterproof box
you will need to consider how the esc is cooled. It looks like that Takuma board has a metal plate where the Takuma esc was kept? It looks like a passive cooling solution (as opposed to water cooled). I would try to take advantage of that, probably a regular Flipsky esc in a metal junction box

Which waterproof connectors are common
Amphenol Surlok connectors are a good option, a bit expensive though. There are also some DIY solutions on the forum

Flipsky motor but which propellor
will depend on which motor you choose, the 65161 (with threaded shaft!) is the most common choice for efoil. There are quite a few propeller options for it:
-Fliteboard propeller, bored out to fit the flipsky motor shaft. It’s a popular choice because it’s inexpensive and easy to adapt. I use this on a Flipsky motor and it’s worked quite well.