Board and Foil for large rider

I am thinking that it may be a good winter project for me to build an Efoil.
I am a Controls Engineer.
I understand most of the motor, ESC, remote, wiring and battery aspects, but have some questions on boards, foils and recommended sizes.

I am not a small guy. 6’5" tall and 275lbs.

It seems most of the talk on this board is that efoil boards should be made as small as possible.
I see a lot of boards here are 5ft or less, with talk of 4ft long boards.
How practical is this for larger riders?

Any foil suggestions for larger people?
I have been looking at Gong foils. They have a few large ones that they say are for people over 100kg, which may work and their foils in general seem to be liked for efoil applications, at least on this board.

Other questions:
If I was to build an efoil, I would want my family to be able to ride it as well.
At some point if we are all having fun, we may build more boards, but would like to start with one both from a cost point and until we know how much we would use and enjoy it.
If I build a larger board and foil it for someone my size, what will it be like for my wife or son to ride?
My son is currently a 100lb kid who is growing like a weed.

My preference would be that I could build a board that would be fun for all of us to use, preferably without needing to change foils. We would all be beginners at this point. Avid sailors, canoeists. We have SUP’s a few times, but prefer to canoe or kayak.

Thoughts on a setting up one board to be successful for this application?

1 Like

I’m still a beginner so it’ll be nice to hear more people chime in. I’m 220lbs so we’re in the same team :smiley: Here are my 2c.

I think the learning time is not so long with the right foil so it makes sense to have a bit shorter board already from the start. If you make it thick you’ll still get the volume you need to start easily as a heavier rider.