Dinghyfoil Build in Oregon, Flipsky 65161, watercooled 75200 ESC, 12s12p, Lift Blowfish

Thought I’d start writing up my build, which I started in October 2022, and is almost finished. I’m an untrained hobbyist, so hopefully this will serve as at least entertainment, and an illustration of various construction pitfalls I encountered. Would love to hear any design feedback, since my next foil assist is already in the works.
BE2CE66E-2D1E-4348-8201-A7B4B7C52F53

The build goal was a durable, long-lasting efoil. I definitely overbuilt it a bit. I relied heavily on information from this forum, in addition to 2 great ebooks. https://efoil-holland.com/ has great build info, and DIY kits, which will save you a load of time if you’re lazy.

The other was amazing on battery building, My New Book “DIY Lithium Batteries” Is Now Available!

Both are well worth the investment.

Some well-edited sources of information which I wish I discovered sooner:

I started on the board as a beginner wingfoil board prior to deciding on an efoil build, so it was a bit repurposed. EPS core, about 6 inches thick, 6’ long, 30” wide.
Embedded the foil tracks in ½ inch plywood. Layup: 3 layers of 6 oz s-glass, cork core on deck, carbon layer over foil box and 3 layers of carbon in the electronics compartment. Finished with rattle can spray paint because I’m lazy.

66D7686E-8E88-4DD0-B303-37708581E97B

The electronics compartment was cut out with an oscillating saw, and then carved piecemeal, so it’s a bit lumpy. The deck that became the lid was pretty solid already, but I added another layer of cork sandwich and 3 layers of 6oz carbon to avoid any leaking. I embedded stainless M6 rivnuts under the last layer of carbon, then used a 7mm drill to open them up after curing.