Foil Drive motor angle and foot position?

Hi, I demoed a foil drive gen 2 setup the past days, a put together foil, board, and fd that was all new to me. I wing foiled the foil just to get a feel for it.

My question or problem is that my foot position for level comfortable powered flight was well forward of where my feet needed to be once I let off the throttle and tried to foil surf a wave. I found myself getting into a really awkward stance to make the transition easier.

Has anyone played with changing the angle of the motor, or wedging the mast angle of attack?

I watched other guys on the FD and they didn’t need to move their feet when switching from powered to free flight.

Can it be a heavier rider problem? I’m 200lbs.

1 Like

Hey,
Aren’t you are with the clayisland YouTube surf channel? Great channel.

I am a beginner, but will add my 2 cents…
Haven’t heard anybody change the angle of attack of the motor…
Maybe move motor up as much as possible .
Maybe don’t put the whole body forward, just place front foot more forward - wider stance

Hi, yep that’s me, appreciate the good words.

To me it feels like the motor is creating significant lift, similar to up elevator or shimming the tail up. I would guess the pod has a downward angle of incidence relative to the fuse.

I would think or want a neutral thrust angle that generates forward speed and I create the lift…

1 Like

Rotational force might be what I’m feeling: When the thrust line is high above the wing and close to cg or center of lift. And probably more the thrust the effect is felt.

Angling the motor up/down can offset the force, so wondering if this is designed for, or the pod or sleeve is adjustable or installed incorrectly??

This seems like a plausible explanation. - lots of people using FoilDrive - if it acted this way with everyone they wouldn’t have the market share they have. :grinning:

I agree.

And how does one determine or verify a correct installation?