Gong Curve LT vs Curve Alu Vs X-Over

I’m trying to start a build for my first efoil. I tried a Lift board a few weeks ago and got hooked. I also build snowboards/alpine skis, teach courses on engineering electric vehicles, and run a maker space sort of facility. So, I’m looking to leverage my skills and spare the wallet.

One skill I don’t have (yet) is understanding wing specs concerning hydrofoils. I’m looking to source the mast and foil system from Gong and noticed the longer mast versions of their setups are out of stock, but the new ones are available. The Curve LT, which is often recommended, is very different from the new Curve. Looking at the specs, the X-Over seems to be a closer match. Any recommendations? I’m thinking of an 85cm mast and will use a 75/300 and a 65161 120kv for my power system (probably 14s). I weigh about 72kg and have beginner skills, but I have many years of experience in board sports. I’m looking for a bit of guidance on the wing selection before I send the order.

It’s only the kit that’s out of stock with curve LT, you could pick the parts separately.

I haven’t tried them but i think the new curve line might be less friendly to ride as a beginner, thinner profile and higher aspect means a quicker transition and an easier stall of the wing.

Going off that, the new X-Over L is roughly the same as the previous Curve LT according to the specs.

1 Like

Isn’t the curve LT cheaper to get since it’s the ”previous design”?

Also the reported wing feeling is substantially different for curve LT and x-over L
(1450 vs 1300 cm2)

Did you use the 3D viewer tool they provide. Go into the details of the wing and you can click on the viewer so you can see the actual shape of the wing. The chart with the numbers obviously helps but I found the viewer very useful.