Help! Jet Surfboard Motor not arming. Flier ESC 200A 20S, SSS 56104 motor

Hi Guys,

Help!!

Running into a problem that I’m stuck with solving and the local RC community don’t seem to be able to help anymore because I working with power way above what they are used to. I’m having issues getting my motor to run. It’s a SSS 56104 360KV (with a water cooling jacket) being driven by a Flier 200A Marine ESC (4-22S). The problem is the motor just beeps at me. Originally it seemed to be a receiver issue and after some stuffing around I got past the initial beeping that it was making repeatedly which seemed to be a communication problem. It’s still only beeps at me but in a more reactive manner. I.e. when I forward throttle I get one tone, when I backward throttle I get a different tone. The tones come out of the motor, but I assume they are from the ESC (sorry - I’m a mechanical engineer so the electronics are all new for me!). So it seems there is some communication now with the ESC but still no motion on the motor.

I’ve tried calibrating the ESC but not really sure what I should be changing it to.

Does anyone know if this ESC/Motor combination is compatible?
Does anyone have manual for the SSS 56104 motor? (Or is it not necessary as it’s just a 3 phase power supply)
Is there any other way of controlling the ESC other than via a RC transmitter/receiver?

!

Yeah, yeah. Horrible racing stripes I know and they leaked during the glassing. I’m embrassing the chaos though!

Your are im Prog Modos.
You must the throttle way kalibrieren.
With full throttle you bind the battery, then the ESC make tones, and then you make too no throttle.

I’m using 2 Flier 200 amp ESC’s in my jet board.
(same ESC’s as you have)

Some time ago one did not arm (ie: the motor kept beeping).
After resetting the Flier ESC to default and reprogramming it started to work again!.
To make sure it’s not the receiver you could replace the receiver with a cheap servo tester, and test it this way!