Homemade Surf Foil and Board (REV 1.01)

Hey all,

Wanted to share my project on here for anyone interested. I built a surf foil and custom board from scratch. This is my first time building a foil or foil board. I’m very excited to give it a go when things heat up here in New York.

The front wing is foam and has a projected area of 3000 cm^2 so its pretty substantial for my weight (175lbs). The rest of the foil is made of low density wood, and everything has a ton of layers of fiberglass to reinforce. Mast is 38 inches.

The board is also made of low density wood covered in fiberglass. I used some veneer strips of twisted maple on top to create a cool pattern.

I’m an engineering student here in NY, and my next steps this summer are going to be creating a modular system to transition to an E-Foil.

Cheers,

John

New account, so I cant post pics yet:
https://imgur.com/cICptPY
https://imgur.com/3OHHKIv

2 Likes

That is a BIG wing ! Well done, please keep the same board for Efoil and report :pray:

1 Like

Thank you Alexandre! I will!

Indeed very large! Are you planning to use it for foil pumping? You may be able to break the current record of 6 1/2 min if your wing is efficient!

1 Like

Planning to pump and surf! Fingers crossed that it’s as efficient as I think it will be!

That wing is HUGE! IM curious how the board to mast/wing ratio will work out. More is not always better. Utsav good that you have taken on this personal project because it will help you in any career you do as an engineer. I have worked with many engineers over the years and have only had one experience with one that worked perfectly. 99% of engineers seem to not have any concept of practical application if it looks good on paper.

Like I mentioned. The board to mast/wing ratio is my immediate concern so if it doesn’t work out well that that’s your first area to adjust.

1 Like

Thank you for your feedback! Do you think that perhaps the board is too large for this size mast?