My new build won't fly

Hi all,

Noob here with a new e-foil build! But it just won’t fly so I would appreciate any advice. Can you spot anything I have done wrong?

Motor: Flipsky 6kw 65161 120KV w/ stock propeller

ESC: Flipsky FSESC75300

Battery: 52V (14S4P) EM3ev - LG HG2: ~35A Continuous, 55A Max Burst Current

Foil: Gong Allvator V2 X-Over ALU - XL

Board: Gong HIPE EVO

You need double that for the battery…
And I’m assuming the vesc is not set up correctly either.

Thanks for the quick reply! So I need over 70 amps? I repurposed the battery from my old bike with hopes that would do it. This setup will do 5mph.

I have the same motor and the slightly less capable 75200 vesc so that’s not the problem.

Your board has lots of flotation volume so I’m guessing if will easily float you so that’s not the problem.

The original Flipsky prop is too big. I tried it and although it would move the board OK it is a lot better cut down. Various threads on that here.

@Jezza is very knowledgeable and has pointed you in the right direction with regard to battery choice and vesc setup.

Flipsky has several setup videos that you should have a look at to confirm your setup

This one the motor type is wrong for you

And this one that has the correct motor type for you

Flipsky uses these to get you started, there are lots of individual parameters you can adjust once that base layer is in place.
For example my max current limit value from the “wizard” setup was initially too low. I changed it to match the capability of the battery I use and it worked much better.

Good luck and keep us posted. This activity is so much fun once you get things sorted!!

Depending on your weight, you want around 100a battery amps and about 150 phase amps. These can be set on the vesc, but you will need to upgrade the battery to handle that too. The takeoff takes quite a bit of power, but once on the foil you’ll use a lot less power.