New project with Gong board and foil

Hi!

I’ve been scrolling the forum and thought I’ll start a thread about my ideas and progress!

I decided to sell my monster e-bike and use the money for an efoil project!
Originally I was thinking about building my own board but I realized I won’t have the time to finish the project by next summer if I’ll go down that road. And my goal is next summer.

So my plan is the following:

Board: Some model from Gong
Mast and wings: Gong
Motor / electronics: Maytech kit

Battery: I’ll build something. I have a k-weld and some experience with batteries.

Does anyone have experience with converting a Gong board? Cutting it out, making a lid etc?

How are the Maytech motors and ESC holding up? It’s seems everyone else is going for Flipsky?

Oh! And keep in mind that I’ve never done any kind of foil riding before! :sweat_smile:

Any input is greatly appreciated!

Best regards

Lars in Sweden

Maytech are overpriced for no benefit, i think this is why flipsky are more popular.

There are some gong builds here, how hard it is comes down to what battery you will use and which board you have as this sets the size of the enclosure you need. It takes some effort but if you can build stuff already then it’s not hard

Cheers/
Lars also in Sweden😄

I have the flipsky W7 kite round shaft and the 75200 waterproof esc and vx3. It works fantastic. But the propeller needs to be changed from what they deliver. I got the fliteboardprop, just needed to bore it from 11mm to 12mm and bingo you can go 42kmh on 12s. Super quite. Love it.

1 Like

How great with another Lars from Sweden! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: I’ve seen you on the forum and figured you were from Sweden. So in short, it’s not worth the extra money to get a complete kit without the hassle of tuning everything etc?

Great input, I will look into flipsky also. Any suggestions on where to order from? Would be nice to avoid any bumps on the road if possible. :blush: