Newbie to Surf Foiling - OC

Hey all, I’m brand new to surf foiling… only a few sessions in, but enjoying those small successes where I get them. I’ve been windsurf foiling since July and got to be pretty consistent at jibing after a couple of months. I dawn patrol most days for surfing… me and a buddy decided to add surf foiling after seeing someone at RJs getting 2 and 3 for ones… I had written it off because I just didn’t think the area had good spots for surf foiling.

Anyway – here’s a topic starter: If you could go back in time and give advice to yourself as a new prone surf foiler, what would advice would you give?

Cheers! See ya’ll out there.

Find the worst waves you can possibly imagine. Ignore the sets.

Where are you riding and what gear are you on?

So far we’ve foiled Bolsa Chica and Seal Rivermouth. Folks have been pretty friendly and helpful which is nice.

I’m riding the same Slingshot 76 front wing I windsurf with… but I bought the shorter fuselage and 71cm mast. I got that big Slingshot board from a couple of years ago … The “Skywalker” :crazy_face: pretty easy to catch waves on. My buddy is riding the same foil set up but a 4’6 beater from freedom… it’s trickier!

My advice…

Learn the basics of surfing first.
Then learn the basics of foiling.
Learn the technique to keep weight over the nose while you stand up. Once comfortably standing, then bring the board out the water slowly. I’ve seen far too many guys struggle to keep the foil down while trying to stand up and it slows the learning curve and can also be dangerous…

1 Like

learn to bellyboardfoil…most of us cant do that…and it will come in real handy later in life

I would say learn to give up waves to others you are foiling with. They will appreciate it and you can watch how they do it and try to mimic it. And also, don’t pull on anyone’s leash like burkhardt did that one time.