Strassa's E-Foil from Austria

Hey @all ,

I built my first esk8, 3 years ago and found this forum on my search. Since then I basically read the whole forum and now made an Account to share my build in progress.

I studied electrical engineering in Vienna and started working August/2019 at an automation company where I am implementing VFCs.

So since I just started earning my own money, I want to do a mixture of full DIY/low Budget build (and focus on safety and relieability). So this is how my build looks like (work in progress):

• 80100 Motor Direct in water (only lakes around)
  • FSESC 200A
  • DIY 18650 Battery
  • Old Windsurfer as board
  • 3D Printed Foil

During Easter I started with my battery:

Overview:

• 12S9P - 18650

• Two different cells: 72 x 25R Samsung (from Nkon) 2500mAh 25A /very good P/V
    36 x K-Tech 18650P 2500mAh 12,5A /unbelievable Price/Value
    (long story)

• Single cell fused (tesla style) with ~15A fuse wire
    A battery main fuse 125A (selectivity)

-> that gives 50,4V 22,5Ah and about 1kWh

Battery progress:

3D-Printed “BusBars” 2,5mm² copper wire

Casing (300x230x86) with 3D-Printed spacers

Soldering… a lot, got a high power Soldering Station and only very short contact with the cells.

Charging batteries i missed charging:

Main poles:

Two XT90 (one XT90S) Terminals, one for Power and one for Anti-Spark key (also main fuse)

Current state:

Edit:
To DO - Battery:
Seal the Outputs:
Charging Port,
Voltage/Amperemeter (this is what the switch is for)
Charging BMS

I have 3d Printed a lot already (foil and mast), will show this soon…

4 Likes

Hello
you put a BMS?

Yes I use a cheap 12S bms from china (not yet built in) just for charging. The following scenarios can happen:

Overcurrent:
Current is limited by ESC to 100A battery current, if that fails there is the 125A fuse in the battery and if one cell shorts out I have the individual cell fuses.