SUP e-assist with 66112 Motor - Newbie need help!

Hey!

I’m newbie here and probably on a wrong forum too. But I DIY a lot, coming from RC airplane world and have all the necessary machines at home to make the project (Metalworking CNC, Carbon fiber cutting CNC, 3D printers, lathe, electronics lab…) but I would need a help to cut down on time required. I’ve checked tons of threads and I see you guys have lots of experiance with setups.

I have a lot of 18650 cells leftovers from other projects that I want to use to electrify my Voyager 12’0 Sup, that has plenty of space for battery box etc.

I have option to buy this set locally from a friend (leftovers):

What I would like to do is electrify sup and achieve best efficiancy (speed vs consumption). Since I don’t want to redo my battery setup multiple times (I will probably make watertight box and seal it down, and also I’m not able to spend tons of time for R&D on this thing, I would be super super happy if somebody would point me in right direction about:

• Is propeller provided in kit any good? I saw you guys using same foldable props we use for airplanes. Which one would work best for low speed (10km/h?) and best efficiency with SUP?
  • What battery configuration (anything from 6s to 12s would work for me) would you suggest for maximal efficiency at low power setting (I will probably need 300,400W to go 10km/h?). Should I go low voltage and limit throttle less or high voltage and limit throttle more?
  • Do I need to make any negative motor pitch to reduce propeller lift?

Thanks a tons guys! I really appreciate your help! :pleading_face:

Best regards,
Jure

Don’t buy that motor, it’s got too high phase resistance to give good efficiency.

Thanks for that input. I’ve seen some measurements about internal resistance. What would be a good motor choice? It’s quite difficult to find waterproofed motors online…

A lit of people here motor proof outrunners. Not over complicated to do. 6384 or 63100 would be good.