Ugly board v1 thru v4 - Build thread - 65152 based design

Finally things are slowing down enough to actually post a build thread. For those of you searching this site by parts, here are the major components. Maytech and Flipsky motors – 65151/52, Flipsky 60V-200A VESC, Maytech remote, Naish wingset

My build thread is pretty straightforward compared to most. I used proven technology and it shows in the speed in which I was able to get things done. I went with a 65151/2 120kv motor, paired to a Flipsky 60V, 200A VESC, Maytech V2 waterproof remote, 2020 Naish foil and wingset, 12S Lipo power, printed prop and printed motor mounts. I’ll discuss all this plus the boards I’ve used. I’ll add subsequent posts to include pictures, parts hyperlinks, and links to other useful threads.

Before I begin I would like to include a little background on me because the project can seem a bit daunting reading some of these posts. I’m not an engineer, but I’ve taken at least 6 or 7 engineering classes. I’ve worked a ton of different jobs all the way from teaching at a university to flying airplanes, so I have a really broad background. I surf both in the ocean and behind boats, but waterskiing is my primary water sport. I still consider efoiling a thing to do when I can’t get out and chase bouys in the slalom course (which happens to be a lot of the time). One thing that I do not have in my background is a hobbyist. I’ve never worked on any small electrics, (never really done fiberglass other than to repair board dings), never printed anything on a 3D printer, etc. I’ve heard it on this site before that you need a certain level of experience to tackle this project. I disagree completely. With today’s proven technology and a little help from build threads like this, it’s a project anybody that’s mechanically competent can do.