Ammo Box 6384 Winch Build

I’ve learned a ton on this forum, so I decided to contribute back with this post. This is my first build of this sort so any advice is much appreciated.

Why a winch:

I initially was thinking of making a tow boogie or foil assist, but the winch won out for a few reasons.

1. My primary purpose is to get better at foiling then transition to prone and wing.
  2. I had a good time doing a couple of sessions at a wake tow park on a foil board, but the travel time and cost doesn’t justify going back .
  3. I figured I could also use the winch with surf/skim boards with friends on flat days.
  4. I assumed the tow boogie and foil assist would be more difficult builds​ - lack of 3d printer, and not in a major market where getting the right props seemed difficult.
    In retrospect, I think I should have tried to build a tow boogie, but ​I’m happy so far with what I have with the winch.

The inspiration:

Rewinch - https://rewinch.com/
Motowinch - https://motowinch.com/
Commercial option​s, and quite pricey.

DIY build 1 - Power winch for wake-boarding | Endless Sphere DIY EV Forum
Amazing, but not cheap. He manages to get 30mph max, and can pull 200lb men from a deep water start. He runs a 12s ​battery, and the motor he mentions is a ‘custom’ Astro Flight 3220. The link I found online​ shows the specs of the motor only roughly 50% beefier than the 6384. (3220 ASTRO BRUSHLESS MOTOR).​

DIY build 2 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr2-DdBsqFw
They say 72v at 60a which is just above 4000watts using an e-bike hub motor.

DIY build 3 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XLXMNq9u4Q
These guys are using a 1000watt motor to tow foils, so you don’t need very much power​ if you just want to foil.

The key ​components:

6384 140KV Flipsky motor.

• After doing a bunch of research and some basic math, I figured this motor should be plenty for a foiling and surfing.

Flipsky 75100 vesc.