Battery Search For Efoil Build

Hi all, I just joined this forum, I am a high schooler doing an Efoil build as a project. I recently purchased this kit from Flipsky: Group W7 Water Sports Kit (Includes High Current FSESC75300 /75200 and – FLIPSKY

I was wondering what battery I should use for this, if you can send links, that would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

That is great school project!!

I’m new to this so I don’t feel qualified to answer your question but many here have a lot of experience.

I would suggest you provide some more detail on which motor and VESC you chose in that package along with what some of your design criteria are - run time, weight ,expense, build or buy etc.

There are lots of threads here that discuss this issue so also encourage you to read about the many options available.

These are the options that I chose when buying the kit. I’m looking for a battery that is 72v, 20ah. I’m probably going for around 30 minutes of ride time. I want to stick with it being under 500 dollars probably.

1 Like

Why do you want a 72v Battery?

Be careful, batteries declared as 72V deliver peak 84V (20s) and will fry your VESC
The 75300 is for 18s max
Trampa rates it for 16s max to allow for spikes.

Most used Batteries with the 65161/65162 Motor here are 14s or 12 s, more than enough to get foiling.

If you buy a battery pack don’t go to low on Ah, otherwise the pack will not be able to deliver the necessary A, depending on the cells used in the pack you need a certain amount of parallel series. And cheap packs = low current even with many parallels

I build a battery pack of 12s6p Molicel P42A which gives me at the moment 55 min of pure ride time. As I fall frequently I suppose ride time will get even better when I have less starts.