Critique my battery design (13S16P)

Hi Folks –

This is my first attempt at designing a battery system and fourth or fifth design iteration. I’m finally at a point where I think I’ve got the fundamentals right and have a design that I’m reasonably happy with.

This system is a 13S16P build using Samsung 40T’s with a peak burst load of 250A to power a 85165 200KV through a Flipsky 75200. The ESC will be located in a separate waterproof enclosure and likely submerged in CorrosionX somewhere that I can plumb water cooling. The system will be managed by a Daly 13S 250A BMS. Note: I haven’t taken the time to model the string connections from the BMS.

The battery system will generate 46.8V nominal and has a capacity of 60AH with a weight of approximately 40lbs assembled. It has been arranged into 1S16P groupings which are then laid out into a 13 series length for a total of 208 individual cells. There are 7 groupings on the bottom layer and 6 groupings on the top which are connected through a pair of bus bars. It will initially serve as a simple propulsion system for an electric kayak through I aspire to try to get the kayak up on dual foil system at a future point which was the motivation for the larger motor.

I wanted the build to fit in a off the off the shelf waterproof box so as to not have the additional complication of building a box. I would have preferred a single-layer arrangement for my first go at this however the next larger size of box is twice the price and results in quite a bit of unused interior space. Final external size of the build is 420mm x 336mm x 180mm