HELP! Can anyone modify and STL for me

I have an STL for the perfect duct, but I need to modify it to fit a larger prop (7.5") while keeping the base that connects to the motor the same. Can anyone help me? I am still new to fusion360. Thanks in advance!

Send a link to me and I can take a look after the weekend

Thanks so much…

Nice design, what are you going to print it in?

Richard

I printed one out on the ender3 and it came out perfect. just need to resize a few things

What filament?

Richard

used PLA for the first one, thinking petg on the second. You think they will be strong enough?

This is a really detailed model. Nice. What’s the origin of the file?

Not sure, I fount it online somewhere. Its fits my motor perfectly and all the bolt holes line up nicely. BTW its ok if you cant make it work. I know that modifying STL after the fact can be difficult, and I have a few other options I can explore.

Nah I am already well under way reverse engineering it. I am pretty good at it. Just need to find the time, that’s all. Sometimes work gets in the way of hobbies :slight_smile:

edit: Status update: Just finished the reverse modeling. This is now fully parametric and easy to modify in SolidWorks. I’ll proceed to adapt it to a larger prop soon.

4 Likes

Nice work, what is the material thickness of the ring and spokes? It looks a bit fat :slight_smile:

1 Like

The twisted spokes lokes familiar! I believe this is the duct we made a few years ago or a modified verson of it.

Awsome you made it parametric.

1 Like

Awesome. Thanks so much!.. you’re the man!

The ring thickness is about 13mm in the thickest part.

It is almost an exact copy of the original, only parametric. You can see it overlaid here with the original (highlighted in different colors).