YAN (yet another newbie) - Board shape feedback for starting out with e-Foiling

Hi All

First post, so hoping this formats nicely :crossed_fingers:

I’ve read a lot of great info in this forum and would like to make the construction of an e-Foil my Winter project (Summer here right now downunder). I’ve never foiled and intend to find a school to give it a crack, but as I just had a number of day’s of ‘quality time’ with my PC thanks to covid, I drew up a board in OnShape.

My rendition is 1600mm (5’3") long and 750mm wide (2’5") and bang on 100l volume. Guessing as I’m an e-Foil beginner, it will need a bit of grunt for me to get up, but I really don’t want to go crazy with gigantic battery packs and megawatt motors if I can help it!

In case you wonder why I chose “Weightshift” as my username, this is due to my love of sports requiring weight-shift control - hang gliding and motorcycling. Hoping to add e-foiling to that list :grin:

If I’ve got the piccys thing right (no post-preview in this forum?), hopefully some renditions are showing below . . .

Link to OnShape Document:OnShape

Screenshots:

1 Like

Your board looks very similar to mine, just a bit larger. I also had round corners at the back but I didn’t like how it looked and I had troubles with the rails (transition to the round corner). I think it’s better if the rails go to the end of the board (like lift does it). Of coarse this is a small detail and with a 100l board you will not have any problems with takeoff the way you designed it.

See here before and after sharp corners at the end of the board (pictures@the end): Daniel's 2nd build - #4 by sat_be

Hey Daniel - awesome build log you’ve got going, thanks for linking to it :+1: I’ll study it closely.