Community designed/produced folding propellor?

(Disclaimer- I’m a total noob with little knowledge on the electrical, hydrodynamic and propulsion systems that are needed for an e-foil build. As such I may misunderstand some stuff so feel free to correct me if I get things wrong. Im here to learn.)

Firstly, let me begin by saying there are many contributors here who have embraced the DIY ethos of this community with gusto and provided an excellent foundation of knowledge. Many thanks.

Where I’m at
Im starting my first e-foil build this winter (build log when I have something to show) and have been doing some research to find out what it entails. After a fair bit of reading its become clear that the propeller is a really important-some might say ‘pivotal’ part of an effective e-foil system. (Cough…. Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

So that’s what this threads about.

What I want
Long story short- I’ve decided I would like to have a well designed, durable folding propeller for my beginner board and wondered if any of you would be interested in one too?

If yes, read on!

My proposal
What I’m proposing with this thread is to combine the forums skills/knowledge base and real-world e-foiling experience with a bit of metal casting to produce a strong folding prop available to the community for less than 200euros each (rough back of an envelope calculation).

My end
As I’ve already alluded to in my Noob Status Disclaimer, I don’t have any of the expertise needed to make a good prop by myself…… but to quote Liam Neeson “what I do have are a particular set of skills”.

Gross exaggeration-what I really mean is I have a foundry and Im not afraid to use it! :grin:

Seriously though, in my day job Im consistently casting metals with thicknesses less than 1-2mm so I don’t think a prop blade will pose too much of a problem but we’ll see.

How I see this happening
We would need to: