Tobi's build from Berlin

Hey guys,

First of all i want to thank @pacificmeister to start this forum, you have created a great source of inspiration!

Then thanks to those i’ve gotten a lot of ideas from, @Wardy & @edivory i’ve copied a lot of your solutions.

@Flightjunkie , thanks for bringing CorrosionX into my life :slight_smile: and your Remote Hack, @michion thanks for your amazing seal! Congratulations for @Flying_Rodeo for your brilliant Motor and @kiterr for your amazing Wings.

As well as i want to shout out a big thanks to all the guys in the german telegram channel!

I’m a mechanical Engineer from Berlin, Germany and have lots of experience building Drones, FPV and big Octos alike, as well as a passion for Wakeboarding and Foiling.

Here’s my finished first Setup:

Anton WingFoil Board 5’0/ 80-90L/ 149cm x 60cm x 12cm
Got that used on ebay with little damage.

FR Motor System and RL Fuselage and Efoil Wings

14S14P Samsung 18650 25R

MGM Compro ESC TMM 14063-3

On this topic i want to cover the solutions i found worked for me and share about the build from the beginning to the end.

My biggest challenge was working with carbon fiber for the first time on this scale. Also getting everything 100% watertight was never necessary in my previous builds.

Here are some pictures of the finished board and the first test ride yesterday.

More exact description of the built will follow…!

And last but not least the video:
https://youtu.be/r0RXpcUDjqU

25 Likes

Talking first about the elephant in the room when building an efoil.

I’ve played with the idea to build a board from scratch but was shocked by the amount of hours that go into shaping and laminating a board so i cheated and got this beautiful handmade carbon board from a small manufacturer here in Berlin. Thickness of the board is 12cm, so i figured it will fit battery and electronics.